Book Tickets

Assisted Performances

Audio described performances

Live commentary via personalised headphones for blind or partially sighted patrons. Braille and Large Print cast lists will be available for these performances, with programme notes broadcast 15 minutes prior to the performance.

Touch Tours

Touch tours allow visually impaired people a unique opportunity to go onto the stage and explore the sets, costumes and props before the performance begins.

Touch Tour

Captioned performances

English text displayed on a unit for people with hearing impairments.
For more information on captioned performances please watch the video below.

Sign Language Interpreted Performances (SLIP)

A BSL interpreted performance is where the vocal line is interpreted into sign language. The interpreter stands at the front of the stage to one side allowing you to view both the signer and the production.

Relaxed Performances

Designed for anyone who would benefit from a more easy-going environment, including people with Autism Spectrum Conditions, learning disabilities or dementia, and families with babies. The lights will remain up in the auditorium and loud sound effects will be dampened. You're free to move around and make noise, or leave the theatre at any time. Extra staff will be available to assist with seating and access arrangements. We also produce visual stories to help you prepare for your visit.

Forthcoming Assisted Performances...

Brave New World
Captioned - Wednesday 14 October 7.30pm
Audio Described - Saturday 17 October 2.30pm
Touch Tour - Saturday 17 October 1pm

The Bodyguard
SLIP - Friday 16 October 7.30pm. Interpreter Donna Ruane
Captioned - Thursday 22 October 7.30pm
Touch Tour - Saturday 24 October 12.30pm
Audio Described - Saturday 24 October 2.30pm

Opera North - Kiss Me, Kate
Audio Described - Saturday 21 November 2.15pm
Touch Tour  Saturday 21 November 1pm

Mack & Mabel
SLIP - Wednesday 25 November 7.30pm. Interpreter Clare Edwards

Audio Described - Saturday 12 December 2.30pm, Sunday 3 January 1.30pm
SLIP - Thursday 10 December 1.30pm, Sunday 13 December 1.30pm, Friday 8 January 7.15pm. Interpreter Donna Ruane
Captioned - Saturday 2 January 2.30pm
Relaxed Performance - Wednesday 6 January 1.30pm & 715pm

The Snowman Relaxed Performance
Relaxed Performance - Thursday 28 January 7pm

Jane Eyre
Captioned Saturday 13 February 1.30pm
Audio Described Saturday 13 February 1.30pm

Blood Brothers
SLIP-  Friday 19 February 7.30pm. Interpreter Anna Francis

Of Mice And Men
Captioned - Wednesday 2 March 7.30pm
Audio Described - Saturday 5 March 2.30pm described by Tina Hall.
Touch Tour Saturday 5 March 1pm

Opera North - Cosi fan tutte
Audio Described - Friday 11 March 7pm
Touch Tour Friday 11 March 5.45pm 

Audio Described - Wednesday 23 March 7.30pm. Described by Anne Hornsby
SLIP - Wednesday 23 March 7.30pm. Interpreter - Paul Michaels
Captioned - Friday 25 March 7.30pm

Matthew Bourne's Sleeping Beauty
Audio Described - Friday 22 April 7.30pm

RSC - A Midsummer Night's Dream: A Play for the Nation
Captioned - Saturday 7 May 1.15pm
Audio Described - Saturday 7 May 1.15pm. Described by Caroline Burn
Touch Tour Saturday 7 May 11.30am

Chitty Chitty Bang Bang
SLIP - Friday 20 May 7.30pm. Interpreter Donna Ruane
Captioned - Saturday 21 May 2.30pm
Audio Described - Saturday 21 May 2.30pm

Audio Described - Tuesday 21 June 2016 7.30pm
SLIP - Tuesday 21 June 2016 7.30pm. Interpreter Donna Ruane
Captioned - Thursday 23 June 2016 7.30pm

Guys and Dolls
SLIP - Friday 24 June 7.30pm. Interpreter Donna Ruane
Captioned - Saturday 25 June 2.30pm

Scene & Sound logo access page
For a full guide to Audio Described, Captioned and British Sign Language interpreted performances at a variety of local theatres visit

For more information on our assisted performances please call Emily Noakes on 0115 989 5609 or email